Villa announce electoral team as Misagga declares candidature

By Elvis Senono

Kampala. Many a SC Villa fan boast of the club’s proud tradition of changing club leadership through elections.
The process however often creates friction as evidenced when Franco Mugabe replaced Patrick Kawooya in December 1993 and when Ben Misagga attempted to take over the reins in 2005.

On August 24 this year, Uganda’s most successful league side will again go to the polls as Misagga seeks to extend his stay in power having been elected into office on a four-year term in 2014.
On Sunday, he used the opportunity of announcing the electoral committee headed by Army MP Major Evelyn Asiimwe and Central Region Youth MP Sarah Babirye Kityo to announce his candidature for the club presidency.

“First of all, I thank the earlier leaders at SC Villa Jogoo as Patrick Kawooya and Franco Mugabe and many others who laid a strong foundation for a great footballing club in Uganda. I have witnessed about three elections of Kawooya, Mugabe and then when I was denied the top seat when I was unopposed in 2005,” he stated.
“Traditionally we vote so the other interim leaders were just trying to streamline leadership.

Some other clubs don’t hold elections. I don’t know why Fufa is intent on our club to vote yet other clubs don’t vote. What I won’t accept is our club to run on an interim basis. We have a constitution that we must respect. It was started when I was in Lusaka. So as per Article 24, I am tasked with the responsibility of appointing the electoral committee and appeals committee. I will be standing for the up-coming Sports Club Villa Jogoo elections. I appeal to FUFA to respect our constitution,” he further stated.
Four other people are rumoured to be interested in the Villa top seat including Lotteries and Gaming Regulatory Board CEO Edgar Agaba.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here