US stars dominate Ugandans

By Fred Musisi Kiyingi

Kampala. Maxime van Pee and Fortune Ssentamu have for so long dominated races to become cult heroes for most MX fans.

But on Sunday during the sixth round of the Mountain Dew MX Championship at Uganda Sports Arena, Busiika they met their match in American and South African guest riders who took the sport to a different level.
But it was not just the foreign drivers alone; the Orland siblings also showed they are heading into the stratosphere.

For once the mammoth sell-out Busiika crowd shifted their allegiance to the guest riders and no one could blame them. It was the only logical thing to do.
Maxime, the three-time MX1 national champion admitted the guest riders were in different class. “Despite having a problem with my bike, I cannot make it as an excuse,” he told Daily Monitor. “I was off the pace and this is a lesson to all of us.”

Preston Boespflug, Brandon Leith, Christopher Thies (all USA), and Joshua and Jonathan Mulimi (all SA) put on gravity-defying acts that took the breath of fans away.
But while we all knew the Americans were good, the story of the day perhaps ought to be the form of the Aviv and Stav Orland. The two showed they are heads and shoulders above of the rest of the locals.

Arthur Blick Jr admitted as much. “The exposure they have had in USA puts them in different class and rest of the boys need to raise their standards,” the 10-time national MX1 champion observed.
Blick Jr meanwhile remains on course for his 11th title despite losing 13 points to Maxime. The difference between them is now down to 74 points with two events to go.

American Brandon Leith, who dominated MX1, was full of praise for South African Joshua Mulimi, 19, who was his main challenger throughout and 15-year-old Aviv who upgraded to top class. He was also impressed by the crowd and promised to return to Uganda.
The next event will be held on October 21 at Garuga.

National Motocross results after Round 6 at Busiika

The top three
Mx50cc peewee
Ashiraf Mbabali 57
Ramathan Mubiru 54
Liam Ntale 45

Mx50 senior
Gift Ssebuguzi 60
William Blick 49
Miguel Katende 42

Alon Orland 60
Jeremiah Mawanda 45
Isabella Blick 43

Fortune Ssentamu 60
Malcolm Lubega 51
Wazir Omar 45

Ali Bobo Omar 0
Sharifah. Kateete 47
Alestair Blick 34

Fathu Kiggundu 60
Isma. Mukiibi 49
Yasin Kasirye 41

Maxime van Pee 57
Arthur Blick jr 45
Talha Kiggundu 43

Mx vets
Barak Orland 60
Rodrigo de Oliviera 51
Pieter Pelser 45

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here