Tiperu wins Arua Municipality NRM primaries ahead of by-election to replace Abiriga


Former National Youth MP Nusura Tiperu has emerged winner of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party primaries held Wednesday in Arua municipality.

The former East African Legislative Assembly Member of Parliament beat seven other people who contested in the race to replace former Arua Municipality MP Ibrahim Abiriga, who was killed in June this year. Abiriga and his brother Saidi Buga Kongo were gunned down by unknown assailants from Kawanda, Wakiso District.

Ms Tiperu was declared NRM flag bearer at 8pm by the NRM Electoral Commission chairman, Dr Tanga Odoi at the Arua municipal council offices after she got 1,798 votes.

Her closest challenger, Swadik Angupale got 1,443, followed by Jackson Atima who obtained 1,362 votes and John Lematia who trailed with 20.

The other contenders; Aluma Muhamad got 183 votes, Simon Ejua polled 118, Godfrey Obiga got 91 votes and Khalifan Mohamad obtained 59 votes.

Speaking on phone from their home in River Oli division, Tiperu commended the voters for entrusting her with the NRM flag and promised to ensure that the NRM party retains the seat.
But Jackson Atima the second runner up rejected the results saying most of the voters were barred from voting.
“About 70 percent of the voters were not allowed to exercise their right to vote. The electoral commission did not also display the registry well for people to check their names. There was also police interference in the exercise. I also did not see my name on the list. I didn’t vote. They should not be surprised if we take another direction,” Mr Atima said.

Similarly, Swadik Angupale the first runner up expressed disappointment with the manner in which the NRM Electoral Commission managed the entire process. He warns that he could proceed into the race as an independent candidate in protest of the open disenfranchisement of voters.

However, the party national Vice chairperson for northern Uganda, Mr Sam Engola dismissed claims that the whole election process was messed up and manipulated to favour one candidate.
“I don’t see anything wrong. The exercise has been peaceful. We took the voters by surprise because we used the registrar of 2016 and that’s why there might be some complaints,” he said.

Ms Tiperu will join 15 other candidates on independent ticket to battle for the seat of Arua Municipality Parliamentary seat.

According to the national Electoral Commission roadmap, nominations for the candidates starts today (July 19) and will end on July 20, 2018. The election is set for August 15, 2018.


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here