Okello, Waiswa face off in close Fufa awards

By Denis Bbosa

Kampala. There were muted murmurs at Sheraton Hotel concerning the startling omission of last season’s Uganda Premier league top scorer Dan Sserunkuma from the list of the final three Airtel-Fufa Awards candidates -but the federation maintained it was a choice of 16 league coaches.
The final showdown on December 7 at Speke Resort Munyonyo will be amongst Onduparaka forward Viane Ssekajugo, KCCA budding playmaker Allan Okello and Vipers attacking sensation Moses Waiswa.
Ssekajugo scored eight goals as the Caterpillars finished fourth last season but it is his splendid outing in the Fufa Drum tourney where he helped Buganda province lift the trophy that puts him in good books.
Waiswa’s creative spark played a key role in Vipers lifting the league title though many would argue that Sserunkuma’s 18 unassailable goals delivered the ultimate success.
Okello was part of the KCCA side that finished second in the league, won the Uganda Cup and punched above their weight in the Caf Champions League though much credit can be extended to shot-stopper Charles Lukwago. There will be a heated battle in the female category where UCU Lady Cardinals’ custodian Ruth Aturo takes on Kawempe Muslim Ladies’ Tracy Jones Akiror.

4th Airtel-Fufa Awards

Airtel Fufa Male Player of the year
Allan Okello (KCCA)
Moses Waisswa (Vipers)
Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka)

Airtel FUFA Female player of the year
Tracy Jones Akiror (Kawempe Muslim)
Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals)
Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs – Lubaga)

Upcoming Talent (Juniors league U-19)
Anaku Sadat – KCCA Soccer Academy
Thomas Kakaire – Bright Stars
Iddi Abdulwahid-Onduparaka Junior Team

Fufa Most Promising Player Award
Mustafa Kizza (KCCA)
Fred Amaku (K-Jinja SSS)
Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers)


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here