MP Amongin awarded Mandela Leadership Prize

By Moses Kyeyune

PARLIAMENT- Ugandan Member of Parliament, Ms Jacqueline Amongin (NRM-Ngora) has received the 2017 Mandela Women Leadership Prize.
Tanzania’s President, Dr John Pombe Magufuli scooped the Mandela Peace Prize while Egyptian journalist Khaled El-Balshy won the Mandela Innovation Award.

Ms Amongin is also the chairperson and founder of the JADEF Laureate 2017 of the Mandela Women’s Leadership Prize.
The awarding ceremony was held at the Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel in Paris on Monday.

“The awards committee has duly noted all that you have done in promoting good governance and development in Africa,” Dr Paul Kananura, the president of the Mandela Institute said.

“Thanks to your leadership in bringing about an inclusive development in Uganda, the members of the jury unanimously agreed to award you the Mandela Prize for your actions towards social justice and valuable achievements in community change,” Dr Kananura said.

Ms Amongin, a member of the Pan African Parliament emerged from a pool of 4,956 candidates to rank among the fifteen leading figures and institutions for the 2017 award.
The Mandela prizes are awarded annually to personalities or institutions for their laudable actions in favour of Africa and peace, in the spirit of Pan Africanism.

The Mandela Institute is a high-level think tank open to decision-makers, private actors, civil society and experts dedicated to the strategic missions of African emergence as well as the “open society” values of peace through “intellectual diplomacy”.
It conducts expertise and lobbying actions for the rebirth and emergence of Africa.

Its proposals are conveyed to public policy makers, international community, private actors, civil society, in order to make visionary decisions.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here