Makerere University suspends guild campaigns


Following the resignation of the former guild electoral chairman, Mr Peter Makumbi, Makerere University has suspended guild campaigns as the hunt for his replacement continues.

University Dean of Students, Cyriaco Kabagambe confirmed in an interview that final campaigns will only resume when the new EC chairman is found.

“We saw his resignation request and after verifying it, we allowed him to step down. I think he was struggling with leadership which could be the reason he stepped down,” Mr Kabagambe said.

Initially, the presidential guild elections were to take place on Friday last week.

University spokesperson, Ms Ritah Namisango said the resignation affected the programme as there was a shift in the dates which are yet to be communicated.

“The resignation affected the schedule for the campaigns. We shall communicate the new dates as soon as possible,” Ms Namisango said.

A memo issued on Monday by the chairman caretaker government indicated a meeting was to be held on Tuesday (March 5, 2018) which would resolve on how best the campaigns would resume after the replacement.

“The caretaker governor received a resignation letter from the EC chairman which he submitted on March 3. At the meeting held on March 6, 2018, the caretaker accepted the resignation and declared the office vacant. The caretaker government will sit to consider the applicants for the position,” read the memo in part.

Mr Kabagambe said the elections are slated for next week.
So far, over fourteen candidates have showed interest in the position.

NRM’s Prize Mari Ahimbisibwe from the school of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHUSS) and one of the favourites in the race said she’s ready to face the other candidates and she feels she has all it takes to win despite the short time of campaigns.

“It has been a short time of campaigning, now disorganized by all that is going on within the EC. I am however ready for it. I will win and would like to call on all the students to support me at this time,” she said.

The other candidates are; Mr Andama Fred Afro, Bruno Bayuda, Fredrick Chiluba, Dan Isabirye, Kasumba Javiira Joe, Silver Lwamaza, Samuel Nuwataho, Emmanuel Jonathan Obbo, Salim Were Papa, Arnold Semanda, Julian Andrew Taliwaku, and Henry Turyasingura.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here