Machines set to roar

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

KAMPALA. After the scrutineering of cars yesterday, the 20th edition of the Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally rolls off with a Super Special Stage at Uganda Motorsports Arena Busiika.
Forty- six cars are expected to take part in the event, which is the fifth round for both the Africa Rally Championship (ARC) and the National Rally Championship (NRC). The drivers will cover two rounds of 2.18km each.
In 2012, during the Super Special Stage in Lubiri, Mohammed Essa from Zambia who won the event in Subaru N12 on his way to African title told this reporter that the sprint is purely to entertain the fans. “You cannot win the event by coming out in the sprint but you can lose the event in the sprint,” Essa said by then. Arthur Blick Jr, the 2015 national champion concurs with the Zambian.
“I won’t race at 100 per cent at Busiika but take the shake-up with care. Day two (Saturday) will be a different story,” the veteran who drives with wife Noelle in a Shell Helix sponsored Mitsubishi Evo X said.

Top provisional start list

Jas Mangat/ Joseph Kamya (Mitsubishi Evo X), Manvir Baryan /-Drew Sturrock (Skoda Fabia), Christakis Fitidis/ Eric Nzamwita (Mitsubishi Evo X), Unissan Bakunda /Umar Kakande (Mitsubishi Evo IV), Hassan Alwi Jr. /Enoch Olinga (Subaru N14), Ronald Ssebuguzi/ Leon Ssenyange (Mitsubishi Evo X ), Arthur Blick Jr/ Noella Blick, (Mitsubishi Evo X),Duncan Mubiru / Musa Nsubuga(Subaru GVB), Omar Mayanja/ Hussein Mukuye (Mitsubishi Evo X) Susan Muwonge /Edmond Kyeyune (Subaru N12B), Piero Canobbio /Silvia Frigo (Mitsubishi Evo X).


Day one – Busiika
CS1 A&B 4.36km
Day two competitive sections
CS2 Kitwe 19.95km
CS3 Shekhar Mehta 26.46km
CS4 Lwasa 25.97km
CS5 A.D.E.L 31.3km

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here