KCCA retain Cup in Bukedea final

By Elvis Senono


KCCA have over the years emphasized a football style that is easy on the eye. A short passing approach aimed at winning titles as well as providing entertainment.
But after rubbing shoulders with continental heavyweights over the past two seasons, it appears as if there is an acceptance that a combination of grit and grace can help the club achieve better results.
There was nothing fancy about the way KCCA retained the Stanbic Uganda Cup title following a 1-0 victory over league champions Vipers at the Emokori Grounds in Bukedea district on Saturday.
But regardless of what transpired, history will remember KCCA as winners of a record equaling 10th title to join Express as the most successful sides.
“The lads have performed well largely young players given responsibility and not so many people believed in that.. I can say the season has been successful,” KCCA coach Mutebi said after the final.
Julius Poloto scored the decisive goal, directing an Allan Okello mishit shot into Ismail Watenga’s goal on 42 minutes of the well-attended final.
The structure of the goal or rather lack of it, summed up proceedings on a bumpy pitch from which either side struggled to create many goal scoring opportunities.
The winners, missing up to four first team players – Muhammad Shaban, Derrick Nsibambi, Muzamir Mutyaba and Mustafa Kizza, will particularly take satisfaction from the result having struggled to string together passes.
Vipers on the other hand had more possession but lacked the usual bite as the Timothy Awany-led defense restricted them to one decent opportunity.
Vipers forward Milton Karisa forced goalkeeper Charles Lukwago to tip over his effort before KCCA midfielder Sadam Juma was sent off after picking a second yellow for handling the ball.
Even then, KCCA substitute Paul Mucureezi missed a one-on-one chance after bursting through the opposition defense following a give-and-go with man-of-the-match Patrick Kaddu.

Uganda Cup Winners

Since 2011
2018 KCCA
2017 KCCA
2016 Vipers
2015 Villa
2014 URA
2013 SCVU
2012 URA
2011 Simba
2010 Victors
2009 SC Villa


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here