Gen Muntu breakaway: Where FDC MPs stand

By Thembo Kahungu & Derrick Wandera

Kampala. A quick survey of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party MPs on where they stand in light of Gen Mugisha Muntu’s announcement that he has left the party shows a big number of them will stay put.
The former party leader was backed by the majority of the MPs in his failed bid to keep the party presidency against eventual winner Patrick Amuriat Oboi, but some of the MPs who supported him, most notably party spokesperson Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda, now say they will not join his new party.
In a quick survey carried by Saturday Monitor, 17 out of the 20 MPs surveyed say they will stay in FDC, two are undecided and only one, former Leader of the Opposition in Parliament Winnie Kiiza, saying she backs Gen Muntu.
FDC has a total of 38 MPs.
We were unable to reach the rest of the FDC legislators for this survey, although some of them could back Gen Muntu.
Soroti Woman MP Angelina Ossegge and Jinja Municipality MP Paul Mwiru, for instance, attended Gen Muntu’s press conference on Thursday, but we were not able to reach them to state their stand for purposes of this survey.

MP Camp
Winfred Kiiza Muntu
Ariko Herbat, Undecided
Gonahasa Francis Undecided
Katusabe Atkins FDC
Odonga Otto FDC
Fungaroo Hassan FDC
Kaginda Roland FDC
Mwijukye Francis FDC
Muhindo Harod FDC
Munyagwa Mubaraka FDC
MP Camp
Nandala Mafabi FDC
Nzoghu William FDC
Ibrahim Semujju Nganda FDC
Nandala Mafabi FDC
William Nzogu FDC
Gilbert Olanya FDC
Morris Ogenga- Latigo FDC
Elaijah Okupa FDC
Rabbi Sizomu FDC
Tumuheirwe Turyamuhweza FDC

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here