Emong voted USPA’s best of 2017


His two wins made him the first Para athlete to take home the biggest prize of the day

David Emong (left) poses with his father after he was crowned. Photo by Michael Nsubuga

Uganda’s sportsmen and women together with the Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) came together to celebrate those who achieved sporting excellence in 2017. 

The Nile Special USPA gala was a light-hearted black tie affair that took place on Friday night at the Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala.

This year the promise of Afrigo Band lived up to expectation as the legendary band played some of their best hits, sending the guests down memory lane.


Their deeply nostalgic tunes were the right anecdotes to a very emotional affair for some of the athletes and guests.

The biggest winner of the night was David Emong who took home the Sports Personality of the Year gong for winning the men’s 1500 T46 World Para Athletics Championship gold medal at the games in London.

Emong’s two wins made him the first Para athlete to take home the biggest prize of the day.

Guest of honour Speaker Rebecca Kadaga congratulated USPA on its 48th birthday and also told athletes that their efforts are responsible for the increased sports budget.


“1970 was 1 year before the coup that brought in Idi Amin, after that we had the Obote government the NRM etc. I would like to commend the Uganda Sports Press Association for resilience really, because they are a private organisation that has survived 48 years,” Kadaga said.


Nile Special USPA Sports Personality of the year: David Emong

Nile Special USPA Team of the Year: National Rugby 7s team

Best Organised Event of the Year: IAAF World Cross Championships

Nile Special USPA Best Run Federation of the Year: Uganda Athletics Federation

Nile Special USPA Legendary Award: Simon Mugabi


USPA Female Athlete 2017 –Josephine Lalam

Nile Special USPA Male Athlete 2017- David Emong


Nile Special USPA Boxer 2017 – Muzamir Kakande


Nile Special USPA Footballer 2017- Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Nile Special USPA Female Footballer 2017-Vanessa Edith Karungi


Nile Special USPA Rally Crew 2017- Christakis Fitidis and Eric Nzamwita


Nile Special USPA Male golfer 2017- Ronald Rugumayo

Nile Special USPA Female golfer 2017- Martha Babirye


Nile Special USPA Male cricketer 2017- Kenneth Waisswa

Nile Special USPA Female cricketer 2017- Gertrude Chandiru


Nile Special USPA Male Pool player 2017- Fahad Ssewankambo

Nile Special USPA Female Pool player 2017- Victoria Namuyanja


USPA Male Badminton player 2017- Brian Kasirye

USPA Female Badminton player 2017- Husnah Kobugabe


Nile Special USPA Male Karateka 2017- Ronald Mwanje

Nile Special USPA Female Karateka 2017- Linda Ochen

Table Tennis

Nile Special USPA Male T/Tennis player 2017- Duncan Mugabe


Nile Special USPA Female Woodball player of 2017-

Nile Special USPA Male Woodball player 2017-


Nile Special USPA weightlifter 2017- Hakim Ssempereza


Nile Special USPA Female rugby player 2017- Samiya Ayikoru

Nile Special USPA Male rugby player 2017- Phillip Wokorach


Nile Special USPA Male Basketball player 2017- Jimmy Enabu

Nile Special USPA Female Basketball player 2017-Vilma Achen


USPA Motocross rider 2017- Isabella Blick


Nile Special USPA Male Chess player 2017- Patrick Kawuma 

Nile Special USPA Female Chess player 2017- Maria Nakanyike


Nile Special USPA Female Volleyball player 2017- Margaret Namyalo

Nile Special USPA Male Volleyball player 2017- George Aporu


Nile Special USPA Netball player 2017-Peace Proscovia


Nile Special USPA Kick boxer 2017-Patricia Apolot


Nile Special USPA Ludo player 2017 –Kato Charles


Nile Special USPA Male Handball player 2017- Felix Mukundzi

Nile Special USPA Female handball player 2017-


Nile Special USPA Female Swimmer 2017-Avice Meya

USPA Male Swimmer of 2017- Tendo Mukalazi


Nile Special USPA Male Hockey player 2017- Emmanuel Baguma

Nile Special USPA Female Hockey player 2017- Doreen Mbabazi


Nile Special USPA Tennis player 2017- Duncan Mugabe

Body building

Nile Special USPA bodybuilder 2017-Isaac Mubikirwa


Nile Special USPA squash player 2017- Michael Kawooya 


Male Badminton player of the year- Brian Kasirye 16 years

Female Badminton player of the year-Husnah Kobugabe 17 years

Motocross rider of the year- Isabella Blick 9 years

Female athlete of the year-Josephine Lalam 17 years


Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here