Asuman Basalirwa, four others nominated for Bugiri Municipality MP seat


Five candidates have been nominated to contest in the Bugiri Municipality MP elections slated for July 10.

The candidates are John Francis Oketcho (NRM), Eunice Namatende (FDC), Asuman Basalirwa (JEEMA), former Bugiri district LCV Chairman, Hajji Siraji Lyavala Samanya and Joel Wamono, both Independents.

The nominations held at the district headquarters, were presided over by the district Electoral Commission registrar, Christine Kunihira.

The exercise was however momentarily interrupted when the Kyadondo East legislator, Robert Sentamu Kyagulanyi, popularly known as Bobi Wine, arrived at the nomination center accompanied by Basalirwa.

This prompted the police officer-in-charge of Bugiri police station, Godfrey Musimami, to instruct the EC officials to first nominate Basalirwa before the situation could run out of hands.

Mr Basalirwa was nominated at about 2:30 pm and Bobi Wine immediately urged residents to vote for a candidate of integrity who would improve on the economy of the country.

“Some Ugandans are poor due to corruption amongst the leaders in the country and there is need for people like Basalirwa to advocate for the needy,” he said.

Basalirwa pledged to attract investors who will set up factories in the area and provide employment to the many unemployed youth.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here